Tags

, ,

Oh, hey. Hello again. I don’t know for how long, but here I am.

There’ve been some changes. A new house. A new kid. Same dog though. He is helpful as ever.

Quite simply, life is good. It’s enjoyable. I generally like things. My kid is pretty much amazing. I’m sorry to all the other parents, but my kid is the best and the cutest and the most everything. Sorry guys. Also, she’s the most stubborn and evil genius of one year olds.  So, we’ve got that going for us.

In news that is not entirely shocking, having a kid is life changing. I wouldn’t trade one minute of the stress or discomfort for anything. Actually, that’s not true. I would gladly trade changing diapers.

But on the whole, everything has been pretty damn great. I have things to complain about, for sure. Who doesn’t? But as I got the itch to write again, I tried coming up with something. I kept waiting for the profound. You have a kid  It’s life changing.  I should have tons of profound things to say, right?  Something about the cliched “I never knew I could love this way.” Or what about the “my life is so much richer now.” Or “now I know what my life’s meaning is.”

Nope. I guess there is truth to all those statements. Falling in love with your baby is really an incredibly different feeling. And my life is a lot more full and there is a new meaning to it. But, I am still the same person. I think. I just have a new dimension.  And really, every moment is not about such profound statements. Every day and most moments are spent in the mundane and routine. And while it’s not as full of flowery language, the mundane is amazing. It’s awesome really. It’s real life. It’s eating dinner and then playing with the Fisher Price mooing farm before bed. It’s singing “itsy bitsy spider” again. For the twentieth time. This hour.

I feel like we are supposed to hate the mundane. Mundane is not very pinterest friendly. But, who cares. I am so grateful for the mundane.

And if there is one thing I want to be sure and pass down to the kid, it’s the practice of gratitude. I think we have to actively practice being grateful. It’s way too easy to get bogged down in all the things that suck or all the things that you need. Just turn on the news and commercials and tell me if you don’t want to just hide in a bunker and bury yourself away from the world. But the world is where we live. And to make it a better life, I think it’s a good thing to practice being grateful. Every night before putting kid to bed, I list one or two things that I am grateful for. My hope is that as she gets older, she will do the same. And, here, again, I don’t need it to be profound.  When she is old enough to understand what being grateful means, she can tell me she is grateful for her stuffed Flounder or popsicles or Daniel Tiger. I don’t think it matters so much what the thing is. What matters in this exercise is taking the single moment to acknowledge that there is a lot in life to be grateful for. Trust me, there are nights where the only thing I can think of is the ice cream I am waiting to eat after she is in bed and watching Gossip Girl reruns with the husband.  (DAMN YOU CHUCK BASS AND YOUR WILY WAYS!!)

The amazing thing about this practice in my experience is that when I do it, it’s hard to stay angry or grouchy or negative for long. Sure, I wish I could lose the weight, or that work was better, or that I was less tired, or that the dog didn’t wake me up at 4 am to go pee. But personally, I find that if I can take the two minutes to think of a few things to be grateful for, I am less focused on the negative noise.

Crap. This has turned into a long and wieldy attempt at being profound even though I usually hate that.

